June 17, 2015 … stillness and serenity

Now that was a day.

Inlet

Peace, perfect peace at Pauatahanui

Unlike the dreariness of the previous day, yesterday was characterised by stillness. There was some thin sunshine, but for me the joy is in stillness. When the water on the inlet is perfectly still, when the sky is perfectly reflected in the water,  that is my idea of photographic heaven.

tree

The view itself is compensation for the absence of kingfishers

I went looking for kingfishers as I often do in circumstances like this, so of course, they went somewhere else. Never mind, the water was so perfect that I was in my happy place.

courtship

Fighting for the hand of the lady

From Motukaraka I went back towards Ration Point where I watched as  a trio of pied-stilts engaged in some sort of courtship combat ritual.

silent power

Swanning about

A pair of black swans glided by with no visible sign of  any effort expended.

Flight

Spoonbill and stilt are frightened by joggers, as am I

A royal spoonbill and a pair of pied stilts took off in panic as a jogger came loping up the walkway. I kept strolling quietly towards the point.

dotterels

Oh great glory, a flock of banded dotterels pretending to be rocks

Wait a minute! Some of those rocks are moving! To my huge delight, I had come across a flock, perhaps fifty birds, of banded dotterels. These delightful little birds can sit very still and pretend to be rocks. In fact I suspect their defense strategy is to freeze and hope to remain unseen.

water

A banded dotterel walking on water

A few brave individuals explored the edges of the water. They move so delicately that it seems as if they walk on the water.

I want more days like this.

 

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Birds, Landscapes, Light, Pauatahanui, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

