June 15, 2015 … feathers and waves

It was a lovely day yesterday, and a friend who is a superb bird photographer invited me to come and take kingfisher shots with her.

Peloton

The peloton approaches Ration Point, while a young mother pushes her baby in the other direction along the excellent walkway.

Mary came for the ride, or more accurately, a walk along the edge of the inlet while we waited for kingfishers. At one stage there were six sitting in trees above or near us. A particular patch of water had been chosen for the light and colour it would offer as the birds dived for crabs. Sadly no-one shared the script with the birds, and though they preened themselves and looked down at us a lot, they seemed disinclined to get wet. While we waited and hoped, I snatched a shot of one of the many groups of cyclists doing their Sunday circuit of the inlet.

ripples

White-faced heron and the ripples

Having decided to go home via the Whitby side of the lake, I had to stop at the mouth of the Kakaho stream where I saw an extraordinary number  of white-faced herons fishing in the calm shallow waters East of the bridge. There were at least eight birds in close proximity, but the patterns on the water made me chose this shot of a single bird.

Terns

Terns at Plimmerton

A brief diversion to Plimmerton in search of the rare black-fronted tern was unsuccessful, though there was a small group of the more common white-fronted variety. As you can see the water is much calmer than the last set shot from here a few days ago. This is noteworthy because at the time this was taken, despite the bright sun and calm wind, there were six-metre waves pounding the South coast.

Waxeye

The waxeye thought it had the banana to itself. Seconds later there was a full-blown passerine scrum

At home in the afternoon, I decided to explore the WiFi capabilities of the Olympus, so I mounted the camera on a tripod and fired up the WiFi. I put some bananas and some bird seed in an old coconut shell in the hedge and lined the camera up appropriately through an open window. Having connected to the camera’s WiFi with my iPad, I went to another room and looked at the live view through the camera lens, taking pictures whenever I saw something interesting.

Feeding

Who invited these guys? Word spreads quickly

It’s a lot of fun seeing nature unfold unaware of the electronic espionage nearby.

Something different again tomorrow.

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Birds, Pauatahanui, Plimmerton, Waves, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

