June 14, 2015 … solemnity to sunset

In company with our younger daughter Helen and son-in-law Vasely, Mary and I had a morning coffee at the Dowse Gallery in Lower Hutt.

Art

Art or playground? I have no idea

The cafe (Reka cafe) is a pleasant and almost always busy place, with fresh food and good coffee. In fine weather, such as it was yesterday morning kids play outside in the open area, and it seems a place for families to gather. There is a concrete moulding in the square and I am never sure if it is intended as art or playground equipment. Yesterday, I intended to portray it as art.

Cemetery

A peaceful corner of Taita cemetery.

From there we went together to the cemetery at Taita to pay our respects to Mary’s mother who died exactly a year previously. Cemeteries are rarely joyous places, but I have to say that I have been to few that are more peaceful than the one at Taita. It spreads over a very large area and has sections that accommodate various burial preferences. The mausoleum style just doesn’t seem to be part of the New Zealand psyche. I like its proximity to the bush on the Eastern hills of the valley.

Steel

Steel cladding on an office block. I love the rust texture

 

In the afternoon, I wandered. I began in upper Tory Street where a building clad in heavy sheet steel caught my attention.  I guess in the event of a serious earthquake this building will not release its contents onto the street outside, though the occupants may well get shaken up.

Tapuae-o-Uenuku

Tapuae-o-Uenuku almost 110 km from my viewing point on the South Coast

I took many more around the city, but my last shot of the day was from Owhiro bay looking across the Cook Strait to mighty Tapuae-o-Uenuku at 2885 metres (almost 9,500 feet) above sea level. The time is coming when seasonal snow will adorn the mountain in its distant blue-white winter coat, but for now there is plenty of rock still visible.

Something different tomorrow

 

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Cook Strait, Family, Landscapes, mountains, Naenae, Waves, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to June 14, 2015 … solemnity to sunset

  1. Adam Rosner says:

    Well seen for the “art or playground” image – I love it!

Leave a Reply

