June 12, 2015 … chilled but still lit up

Travel is restricted at present.

Ferries

Straitsman (L) and Strait Feronia (R) look smart. Their aging sister, the Santa Regina is in service for another week or so then will sail North for new ventures elsewhere.

I am trying to stay as warm as possible, so I have been jumping into the car with the heater turned up, and going to places that involve minimal walking and maximum wrapping. Yesterday’s journey was to the lagoon near the boating club in Wellington City. As I walked through the gates, I noticed that two of the Bluebridge ferries were in port together, gleaming in the late afternoon sun. The Interisland line did themselves no favours when they chose white hulls for their fleet. With ever-present rust streaks, they look shabby by comparison.

Art

“Then out of the tunnel and Wellington burst like a bomb. It opened like a flower, was lit up like a room, explained itself exactly, became the capital” Maurice Gee.

Around the lagoon, I encountered one of the many literary quotes cast in concrete as art works that adorn the area. This one seems to have been a little vandalised, but is still readable and fits nicely with my own feelings for our lovely city.

Textures

Textures of glass, steel, marble and concrete combine with distinctive shapes and angles to provide a unique look and feel.

By now the sun was receding towards the Western skyline (where else?) and the temperature was dropping.

Fountain

The fountain lit by the last light

Nevertheless, the odd shaft of light still crept through and illuminated a corner of Tanya Ashken’s much loved “Albatross” sculpture/fountain

Anchors

Hikitia‘s braking system

Time to head home, and as I passed the old floating crane, Hikitia, its two sturdy cast iron anchors looked worthy of a shot.

That’s another day done.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Art, Maritime, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to June 12, 2015 … chilled but still lit up

  1. Liam says:

    I used to work in the left tower of those twin towers on the Quay. Nice to see a shot of them.

    • Oddly enough, so did I Liam. Philips were the first occupants of “Britannic House” South tower when it was completed in 1981. My offie was on the top floor on the corner nearest the boating club.

Leave a Reply

