June 11, 2015 … under the weather

The first winter cold is upon me and my enthusiasm is blunted.

Petone

Weather from Petone beach … there are always people fishing on the wharf

It will take more that a mere head cold to stop me, though the imagination may be less than it is on better days. Lowering grey cloud and a mean residual Northerly made yesterday less than pleasant to be out there. I began on the Petone foreshore where much of the distant landscape was obscured by mist.  The Northerly was blowing away from the beach, so there are no visible waves.

Shelly Bay

The decaying wharf at the old flying boat base, Shelly Bay

The wind had been so strong in the previous days that three forty-foot containers had blown into the sea from the container terminal, and one of them had floated ashore at Oriental Bay. I decided that it was interesting but not a great picture, so I went on around the harbour to Shelly Bay where the dilapidated old wharf was getting slapped about by the chop .

Halswell

Halswell Light at high tide

Out at Pt Halswell Light, the concrete walkway was disappearing under the waves, and the view to the North was even more limited than the view from Petone.

Pencarrow

Rugged landscape, heavy cloud

Through the Pass of Branda into Breaker Bay and along to Flax Bay, I thought the threatening sky to the South East was worth a shot. The white paint on the upper and lower lights at Pencarrow gave a nice contrast.

Now excuse me while I feel sorry for myself and sip a whisky.

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in adversity, harbour, Landscapes, Maritime, Waves, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to June 11, 2015 … under the weather

  1. gcberger says:

    Brian, Take care of yourself, please

  2. I might have just stayed in and taken shots of the whisky while sipping it!

Leave a Reply

