June 10, 2015 … from high places

Every so often I like to find a different places from which to look down on our city and suburbs.

Fire engine

A fire appliance races along SH2 towards Petone from the city.

The weather was not kind for this activity, but I tried anyway. My start point was at the Southern end of Korokoro on the Western hills.  The problem with many of these vantage points is that there are few windows through which a clear view can be had. As you can see on my first image looking down on the road beside the harbour, I am struggling to see through the trees.

Petone

Petone central area

A little further along, there was a clear view down on Petone. Much of the nearer parts of the suburb were industrial forty years ago, but the whole area is subject to creeping gentrification.

Eastbourne

A winter view of Eastbourne for John and his wife, from Quebec

From the same spot, there is a view across the regrettably dull harbour to Eastbourne, and I decided to use this image today for a new-found friend in Old Chelsea, Quebec who has a connection with Eastbourne.

CBD

Lower Hutt’s central business district

Around the ridges to the top of Normandale Road, my journey took me to a place where there was a nice view down on Lower Hutt’s CBD.

That’s all on this dull day.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Architecture, harbour, Lower Hutt, Petone, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

