June 8, 2015 … a break in the pattern

After a week’s worth of whining about the weather, yesterday was different.

Heron

George, the white heron stands watch on his favourite boat

A bright cool day with little or no wind caused me to see what was happening at Hikoikoi.  George was there. Our wandering white heron seems to choose his visiting days. He is definitely a seafarer, though as he seems to like boats. He perches on the coaming of his favourite launch, and hops down into the cabin when he wants privacy or a sleep.

Straitsman

If you were this close with the vessel under way, you would be in deep trouble

Next I went to the city and from an inner city wharf,  where the glittering reflections on the hull of the Bluebridge ferry, Straitsman appealed to me.

Kingfisher

The best of a bad lot … a kingfisher returns to shore with a luckless crab

In the afternoon, with Mary, I went to Pauatahanui where I attempted kingfisher shots. As delighted as I am with the Olympus for general purpose photography, I am forced to conclude that even with a long lens, the electronic viewfinder does not lend itself to tracking fast-moving agile birds. I caught a few shots, but discarded several hundred out-of-focus off-target shots. OK, lesson learned. I still have my faithful Canons and the 400mm  zoom.

Kingfishers

It looks like a great season for kingfishers

There were lots of kingfishers out there, and there are six visible in this image alone.

And now I am off to repack my camera bag.

 

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, Birds, Light, Maritime, Pauatahanui, Petone, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to June 8, 2015 … a break in the pattern

  1. Really like the underhull photo

  2. Ross Collins says:

    I’m liking that vessel hull too!

Leave a Reply

