May 3, 2015 … waiting for the plane

Yesterday was airport pickup duty.

fountain

I don’t tire of the Carter Fountain. It presents many moods in all weathers and lighting conditions

On the way to the airport I drove as always, via Oriental Bay where I stopped to record the drifting plume of the Carter Fountain as it mingled with the soft rain on a grey harbour.

Breaker Bay

Breaker Bay and that miserable pebble beach. I liked the unusually calm water though, and the curve round to Point Dorset and then across the harbour entrance to Pencarrow

With an hour to spare before Mary’s flight was due, I wandered around Breaker Bay. I love the landscape, but that fine pebble beach is the worst walking surface imaginable.  The deep footprints from those who had gone before should have warned me. Still I stumbled along it, but found it hard going.

Hole

The hole in the rock

Half way around the curve of the bay is a small cave, of the “hole-in-the-rock” variety. The tiny pebbles are there too, so no respite in passing through.

Tapu Teranga

Tapu Teranga Island from the Western side of Lyall Bay

With still time to fill I went through Lyall Bay  and caught a nice angle on Tapu Teranga Island, the sentinel of Island bay. Sweeping rain in the middle of the strait made a nice background.

Something different tomorrow.

 

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Airport, Maritime, Pencarrow, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to May 3, 2015 … waiting for the plane

  1. nzvideos says:

    Thank you for your last shot. It has a Japanese-like starkness to it. I think all the elements came together with this one. Great Image.

Leave a Reply

