May 31, 2015 … rain or shine

What’s a little rain between friends?

Otaki

Almost immediately I fell in love with the area.

As I have said before, some might see my daily photography excursions as manifestations of obsessive compulsive disorder. No matter what the weather or where I am on the day, I have the need to make images. There is no need for pity over my apparent disorder. It gives me great pleasure to face up to the daily challenge and on most days to produce at least one image that I like. Yesterday I took it into my head to go somewhere new. I pored over Google Maps and settled on the Otaki Gorge. It was a damp grey day, one that might produce what a photographic friend calls “atmospherics”.

Cloud

Heavy cloud on the ranges had the courtesy to stay high enough to add to the picture

My hopes were more than met. Otaki Gorge is the product of the Otaki River coming out of the Tararuas. Though these are not mountains on a grand scale, the country is wild and rugged. I had never been up this road before and was almost instantly bewitched by its beauty, regardless of the weather. If nothing else the wetness reduced the number of people in the area, and allowed me to stop for hasty photographs on stretches of empty road.

Wild

It’s wild country and easy to get lost in. There are a lot of search and rescue operations in the area.

I didn’t go right to the end because I had left my journey until late in the day. Every new corner unveiled new landscape possibilities and the low cloud wreathed around the tops just added to the pleasure of the journey.

Avenue

Long lines of trees near Otaki

A long tree-lined section of a designated area of “rural character” was a particular pleasure worthy of future attention. This is definitely a journey I shall do again, in various conditions, but I definitely shall not be deterred by rain (except perhaps in flood conditions when it would be downright dangerous).

That’s enough for this edition.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Landscapes, Light, mountains, Otaki, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to May 31, 2015 … rain or shine

  1. I used to tramp in them there hills. But have not been back since with a camera. You have inspired me.

  2. DennisW says:

    As you wisely advised me many years ago, “If you enjoy the disease, why waste time looking for a cure.”

  3. Thanks for the wonderful, wonderful pictures, made me quite homesick.
    Reminds me of our last trip home.
    Sally Waliis.

Leave a Reply

