May 30, 2015 … finding shots in the cold

It took a while to start looking for pictures yesterday.

Pt Howard

Those mountains are 160 km away. Sunset at Point Howard

When I finally stirred myself into action, I consciously tried for different perspectives from my usual ones. I went up to the water reservoir at Point Howard, and looked South across Seatoun to the Kaikoura Ranges in the very far distance.

Marina

Seaview Marina

From the same place, there is a view of the Seaview Marina which is different to the normal water level shots I have tried there. I am still learning the various quirks and complexities of the Olympus, so when I got home, I was not well pleased with what I caught.

Oriental Bay

The old Oriental Bay marina in a bleak wind

Since Mary is still in Sydney, I decided to head into the city and try some night shots. It was not a great idea since there was an ugly boisterous wind, and even with a heavy tripod,  the buffeting was inconsistent with the long exposures required. Add to that the fact that the boats in the marina were not sitting still at all, and certainly not for a 30 second exposure.

Monastery

St Gerard’s Monastery

When I could set up in a less exposed position and shelter the camera from the wind, I achieved sharper results, though the choice of subjects was more limited. In this case, St Gerard’s monastery was the subject.

That’s all for now.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Architecture, harbour, Landscapes, Light, Lower Hutt, mountains, Reflections, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

