May 29, 2015 … a stunning day from start to finish

My day started at 3am since I had to deliver Mary to the Airport two hours before check-in.

Dawn

This apparently, is how the day begins.

It was still pitch black when I left the airport soon after 5 am, but street light reflections suggested that the sea was flat calm. I drove home and made myself an uncharacteristic bacon and egg breakfast instead of my customary muesli and milk. I reasoned that since the day had started out of the ordinary, I might as well continue. After breakfast I spent some time editing the previous day’s images until I noticed a hint of light outside. I got excited by the colour of the clear sky starting to appear behind the dark silhouette of the Eastern Hills. This really needed a panorama treatment so this is a twelve-shot stitch. Please click to enlarge. I think it’s worth it.

Fog

River fog flowing down the valley to the sea

My editing occupied me for a while until I looked again, and now there was a river fog creeping down the valley through the Taita Gorge and over to the Easter side of the Hutt Valley.

Paremata

Paremata boat sheds

I had other things to attend to and for some reason the middle of the day turned grey and chill. This prompted me to have a siesta after lunch. By the time that was completed to my satisfaction, the day had resumed the calm clarity with which it had started. I tried the harbour and though it was flat, I saw nothing that really moved me there, so I went out to Pauatahanui, and there the conditions were near perfect. At the Paremata beach, I liked the view across to the boat sheds.

Kate

Kate at anchor

One of the boats moored nearby is Kate. I may have photographed her before. She really appeals to me as good honest simple work boat. Her owner has just repainted her and she was looking very smart.

Sunset

Red orange sunset

By now the sun was almost gone so I attempted to capture the colour in the sky and water.

Afterglow

Afterglow

With the light almost gone and the temperature dropping, it was time to go home and get dinner. As I neared Pauatahanui, I liked what I glimpsed in the rear-view mirror so pulled into one of the very few lay-bys on that side of the inlet and took one last shot to bring my photographic day to a close.

Time for domesticity now, so more tomorrow.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Landscapes, Light, Lower Hutt, Maritime, night, Paremata, Pauatahanui, Reflections, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to May 29, 2015 … a stunning day from start to finish

  1. That last shot is stunning

Leave a Reply

