May 28, 2015 … what a swell party this is*

Rumours reached me of a South Coast spectacle.

Rain

It is a firm rule to always check behind me, unless I am actually driving at the time. Thus I caught these sheets of rain (I think), falling in the Hutt Valley.

Naturally, I had to investigate so I went to the city on my way to the South Coast. In my rear-view mirror, I noticed that there were curtains of heavy weather of the Hutt Valley from whence I had just come.

Arahura

Arahura brings a load of queasy passengers from Picton but their trial is nearly over

At Lyall Bay, the road was strewn with rocky rubble from the beach swept up on the hight tide and heavy swells. They were past their peak, but still around 5 metres high. Coming in from the West, the interisland ferry Arahura kept disappearing into the troughs of successive waves.

Meeting

Arahura and Santa Regina almost head to head off Lyall Bay

Santa Regina was doing the same journey in the opposite direction. I am sure they were never in danger, but from the shore, they appeared to be on a collision course.

Sea wall

Heavy swells inside the breakwater, and even bigger ones outside. The Arahura’s superstructure can be seen through the spray.

From beside the airport runway, I was attempting catch the waves crashing over the breakwater when the Arahura made another cameo appearance.

Entry

Arahura enters the harbour mouth

At this point it occurred to me that Arahura would be close to  the shore as she turned into the harbour entrance, so I drove around to Palmer Head. Sure enough she performed nicely, disappearing behind the large swells surging in from the South.

Hills

Golden light on the Eastern hills

Towards the end of the day, I had to add one more image to today’s set as the late afternoon sun painted the Eastern Hills a beautiful gold colour.

That’s all this time.

* Well Did You Evah? from High Society by Cole Porter

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in adversity, Cook Strait, Maritime, South Coast, Waves, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

