May 27, 2015 … sunlit interlude

Technically it’s not yet Winter here.

North

Good morning world.

Lately, however, we could be forgiven for thinking otherwise. Yesterday broke the mould. Sunshine always inspires a sense of wellbeing in me, even if there is frost on the ground. Some mist around the Eastern hills made the start of the day very attractive.

Makara

Looking South towards Makara

I had recently obtained permission to enter a farm in the Ohariu Valley so it seemed like a perfect day to try it out. As I said there was ice on the ground, especially in the shady spots, so I trod cautiously as I climbed the small hill to get my first view looking back towards the West Wind wind farm. If you click to enlarge the image, you will see the spinning turbines on the ridge.

Wetland

Ohariu Valley Wetland

On the other side of the hill is a pretty little wetland which seems to be well populated by waterfowl, of which the most visible and audible were the Canada Geese. The frost is visible in the background.

Morning

Glittering morning

My sense of balance is not what it used to be, so I relied heavily on the support of my photographic tripod as I waded into the middle of the stream for the next shot which was a slow (8 second) exposure.  Just tn days earlier this was the scene of raging floodwaters. How innocent it looked yesterday.

Something else tomorrow.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Birds, Landscapes, Light, Makara, Rivers, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

