May 23, 2015 … bright and cold

We interrupt our regular rain programme to bring you an unscheduled day of sunshine.

Ducks

As far as I can tell, these are grey ducks (Anas superciliosa) but there were some shovelers keeping them company.

To prevent any misunderstanding about the seasons,  the regular programme of chilly temperatures will be maintained.  This was evidenced by the flock of grey ducks on the pond at Pauatahanui huddled into little feathered floating balls.

Mixture

A mixed neighborhood with masked lapwing, white-faced heron and black swans.

At the Eastern end of the inlet at Ration Creek, an odd mixture of water fowl was gathered beside the creek. Imitating the Pink Panther to the best of my ability, I inched ever closer to this strange community. As always the masked lapwings were the first to panic, and as usual, their shrill alarm calls startled the other birds into flight. The black swans remained aloof and unimpressed.

Toetoe

Toetoe seed heads

At the Okowai lagoon near the Aotea subdivision in Porirua, the water was so stagnant that I didn’t blame the birds for boycotting it. The foliage has no such option, so  the Toetoe flowers made a brave picture.

Pauatahanui

Pauatahanui Inlet looking across to Whitby

On my way back around the inlet, I had to admire the stillness. A five shot panorama was constructed.

That’s all for today.

 

 

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Birds, flowers, Landscapes, Light, Pauatahanui, Porirua, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

