May 22, 2015 … soggy soggy day

Bright sunshine streams in my window.

Camborne

Heavy weather on the hills behind Camborne on the Northern side of the Pauatahanui Inlet

It was not like this yesterday. In fact it briefly crossed my mind that we might be in for a repeat of the previous week’s deluge. Fortunately, it was less severe than that. It was just wet. And so I went into town for lunch with a friend, postponed from the preceding week. Afterwards, I came home via a trip up SH1 to Plimmerton and across Grey’s Road to Pauatahanui.

Kingfisher

Todyramphus sanctus, the Sacred Kingfisher watching for crabs

A brief diversion to Motukaraka Point allowed me to see three kingfishers perched in their favourite tree. While I was there, though it was high tide, none of them dived, and one by one they flew elsewhere. As is usually the case I was unable to wait around in the hope of their return so I moved on.

Whitby

Whitby in the mist

Across the water, the upper slopes of Whitby were wreathed in cloud and rain.  It has a beauty of its own.

Wood pigeon

The native wood pigeon or Kereru chomping on our kowhai shrub

Back at home, I was aware of a heavy thrashing sound typical of the clumsy landing of a New Zealand native pigeon. It had landed in the miniature kowhai bush near the front door. A stealth approach allowed me to see the top of its head as it nibbled on the upper shoots of the shrub. The weight of the bird is such that it can’t perch on top and it needs the heavier branches lower down. I tip-toed inside and went upstairs and opened the window as quietly as possible, to look down on the bird as it systematically harvested the new growth. I love the irridescent plumage.

I had better go and capture this sunshine.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Birds, Landscapes, Light, Pauatahanui. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to May 22, 2015 … soggy soggy day

  1. DennisW says:

    Many of your landscape photos remind me of a form of classical Chinese paiting: mountains in the background, clouds/mist in the middle ground, and a detailed, idylic scene in the foreground.
    I don’t know if WordPress allows links, but if so the one below connects to an example.

    https://www.google.com/url?sa=i&rct=j&q=classical%20chinese%20painting&source=web&cd=&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0CAcQjRw&url=http%3A%2F%2Frlauterborn.com%2Fwpnew%2F%3Fp%3D440&ei=lwtfVZn2GYy5sAXLlYOAAQ&bvm=bv.93990622,d.b2w&psig=AFQjCNFPt68xE3dseq3hIdKBXOuUrlKexQ&ust=1432378260132928

Leave a Reply

