May 21, 2015 … like the first morning*

For various reasons I spent all day in Wellington yesterday.

Grey day

Morning has broken*

When I am trying to resist the places that I overdo, I often find myself on the ridges in the higher parts of South Wellington. My first shot from yesterday was taken from Melrose looking across Kilbirnie, RongotaiĀ  and Evans Bay to the Miramar Peninsula. At first glance it looks like a monochrome shot. It is not. It is full colour in a bleak grey morning, alleviated by the crepuscular rays lighting up the bay.

Baring Head

Baring head picked out in a small patch of sunlight

My next shot is from Houghton Bay in a wind-swept reserve that offers great views of the South Coast. I saw Baring Head gleaming in a patch of sunlight and decided to experiment with a feature of the Olympus. The High resolution feature used the image stabilisation mechanism to move the sensor to eight different positions, creating an image in each. It them makes a composite of the eight images and samples that to create a very high-resolution image with a staggering 40 megapixels. All I can show here is a vastly downsized export from that image, but I can see a lot of use for this tool.

Oriental Bay

Oriental Bay as seen from Northland

My next shot was taken in Northland (the suburb, not the province). I made several images that appealed to me, but chose one that uses the long lens for an intimate landscape. As I observed elsewhere Oriental Bay looks more attractive here than the conditions that prevailed at the time.

Cityscape

Cityscape looking Westward from Mt Victoria

My last image today was made from Mt Victoria summit, again using the high-resolution technique. I have always had a fondness for cityscapes. The infinite variety of textures appeals to the anarchist spirit within me.

That’s the day.

* “Morning has broken” by Eleanor Farjeon

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Architecture, Cook Strait, Landscapes, South Coast, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

