May 20, 2015 … I saw the sea

Living in a port city may go some way to explaining my continued fascination with the sea.

Hills

Eastern Hills from the other side

Around the Miramar Peninsula yesterday, I liked the light across the channel on the nearest of the Eastern hills to the South of Eastbourne.

Kaitaki

A surf shot photo-bombed by the Kaitaki

At Palmer Head, there was a vigorous chop on the rocks off the point, and as I lined up the Interisland ferry, Kaitaki steamed into view.

Harbour

Inner harbour

I drove around the South coast to Kilbirnie and then back around Evans Bay to the Inner harbour where the late afternoon light was making interesting patterns on the downtown tower blocks.

That’s all for now.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Evans Bay, harbour, Landscapes, Light, Maritime, Waves, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to May 20, 2015 … I saw the sea

  1. John Titchener says:

    Steamed into view? Hove?? Dieseled?????

    • I rely on the intransitive verb “steam” … to proceed with purpose is a reasonable summary of several dictionaries

      • John Titchener says:

        Reminds me of the definition of a Euclidian vector: A physical quantity that has both magnitude and direction. For example, an elephant, facing North. Or, I guess, a Ferry, facing South…

Leave a Reply

