May 19, 2015 … mainly coastal wandering

A yellow object in the sky stirred ancient memories.

Surf

Lyall Bay surfing

There used to be a thing we called “summer”, but it seems so long ago. Yesterday offered a faint reminder of summer with that yellow thing in the sky. A cold Northerly breeze kept the memories under control, but still, the day looked nice enough. Lyall Bay seemed like a place to start, and sure enough there were plenty of surfers enjoying slightly larger than normal waves.I mean no insult to anyone when I say that the normally small waves mean that real experts go elsewhere. Though the surf conditions seemed good yesterday, I saw more surfers fall off than complete their rides.  One or two did all right.

Dogs

Fetch!

Lyall Bay is popular with dog owners who can take their dogs for a good run on the beach.

Sunset

Sunset colour at Normandale

Sunset was spectacular across much of the Lower North Island yesterday, judging by the number of sunset shots posted by my friends on Facebook. I was at home, and the view to the West is limited by the ridge at the top of Maungaraki, but I gave it my best shot.

Hikoikoi

Hikoikoi night

In the evening, while Mary visited a friend in hospital, I took the Olympus for a night shoot, beginning at the boat sheds at Hikoikoi Reserve. Despite the mean-spirited wind during the day, the night was calm, the water still. Some work to be done, but it’s a good start.

City

Night view of Wellington from Petone. Towards the upper left corner, the red brick of the Hunter Building at Victoria University stands out.

From there I went along Petone Beach, and again I saw the still water reaching 9 km across the harbour to the city with just a few ripples to provide texture in the reflections.

That’s all for now.

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Animals, Architecture, harbour, Landscapes, Light, Lyall Bay, night, Petone. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

