May 18, 2015 … following the river

It seems that last week’s storm is behind us.

Twin bridges

Twin bridges in Upper Hutt

Land slips here and there are mostly small. Some roads and drains have been damaged, but we seem to have been let off lightly compared with the natural disasters experienced elsewhere in the world. In our house we are temporarily inconvenienced because the gas water heating (downstairs) and the electric water heating (upstairs) have both been disabled by grit in the water system from the broken water main. Repairs are scheduled. Weather wise, things seem to be softening, at least in the short-term. The upper valley seemed to be worthy of a visit yesterday, so I went to the Twin Bridges area on Akatarawa Road. I confess to trying out the neutral density filter on the Olympus. This six second exposure smooths the normally tumbling water of the Hutt River.

River

For a while at least, the river heads East

Looking downstream from the same spot gives the impression of an uncomplicated river, though a pair of white-water kayakers who went past knew that there were difficult patches ahead. I was surprised to find little evidence of elevated water levels from the storm. There was no visible debris up on the banks of the river, for example.

River bend

At this point, the Hutt River takes a sharp turn to the South in its last run towards the sea.

Downstream, the river makes a sharp bend to the South at Maoribank, and the rocks in the late afternoon sun make for an interesting scene. Again, there is scant evidence of the recent raised water levels.

Autumn

Last Autumn colour

Following River Road south of Moonshine Bridge, I paused at the reserve down beside the river and enjoyed the trees across the valley, clinging to the last colours of Autumn before we accept that Winter is really with us,.

Sun shine is tempting me outside.

 

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Akatarawa, Landscapes, Rivers. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to May 18, 2015 … following the river

  1. Pingback: November 1, 2015 … hurrying slowly | Wysiwygpurple's Blog

Leave a Reply

