May 17, 2015 … through every passion ranging*

My life was spiced with photographic variety yesterday.

Morning light

The day began with a lovely golden light diffused through the clouds on the hills

In the morning, the upper valley was bathed in soft light, diffused through low cloud. Though I have shot the same landscape many times before I just liked the light.

Cathedral

Sacred Heart Cathedral, Thorndon

In the afternoon, I was roaming in the Thorndon area and turned into Hill Street. The Basilica of the Sacred Heart was completed in 1901, and like the now ruined Cathedral of the Blessed Sacrament in Christchurch, has always taken second place in the public mind to the more traditional architecture of the nearby Anglican Cathedral. The word Basilica refers to the architectural form of a nave and two aisles with windows above the aisles.  It’s a handsome building in its way, but like many older buildings in the city, is in need of earthquake strengthening.

The Terrace

Looking South along The Terrace

Across the road, looking through the Pohutukawa trees along the fence of Parliament’s precinct, there was a hitherto unnoticed view up The Terrace. There are some significant buildings along this street, but when the wind is in the North or the South, it serves as the meanest wind-tunnel I know. Nothing is sadder than a rain-soaked civil servant struggling into the wind.

Whitby

Sunset at Whitby

In the evening, Mary and I set out for Waikanae to dine with friends. The sun was setting with a warm golden light and across the Pauatahanui Inlet, and the suburb of Whitby was gleaming.

Last light

Last light at Pukerua Bay

At the bottom of the hill at Pukerua Bay I got Mary to stop to catch a very attractive sunset.

That’s the day.

*”A Wand’ring Minstrel I” from the Mikado by Gilbert and Sullivan

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Landscapes, Light, Normandale, Pauatahanui, Pukerua Bay, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to May 17, 2015 … through every passion ranging*

  1. nzphotog says:

    Love the sunset – saw it out the window but didn’t pick up the camera. Well done!

Leave a Reply

