May 16, 2015 … as the storm fades

Expect more of the same, they said.

Clouds

Threat from the South

Forecasters predicted a repeat of the ugly weather from yesterday. Looking at the rain radar for Wellington, I thought they might be right, but the day started with some sunshine in which to inspect the wreckage from yesterday.

Hills

Along the Eastern Hills

I was down on Normandale Road watching the digger excavating the water main to effect a more permanent repair. Out to the South there were some imposing clouds which  seemed to threaten more rain. The radar was suggesting the ugly weather was coming in from the West, however, so they were probably irrelevant. Out to the East, there were wisps of low cloud drifting along the Eastern Hills.

Spoonbills

Spoonbills and other water fowl at Pauatahanui

A little later with the Friday domestic obligations met, I set out for Pauatahanui to see what, if anything had been affected by the weather. I suspect that the shingle bank near our favourite kingfisher spot has got bigger, but other than that, all seems well. A group of Royal Spoonbills was huddled against the bitter Southerly and various other water fowl were browsing.

Haywards

Heavy rain on the Haywards Hill

And then the rain arrived. It was not as fierce as the previous day’s downpour, but it slowed things down on the Haywards Hill road. Mt Cecil Rd offers a view back towards Judgeford so I ducked out of the traffic and tried to capture the weight of the rain. The headlights on SH58 below are vehicles coming from the Porirua side towards the Hutt Valley.

Still chilly, but improving.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in adversity, Birds, harbour, Upper Hutt, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

