May 14, 2015 … lemons and lemonade

When the weather prevents other kinds of photography, it makes sense to photograph the weather.

House

“The General Practitioner” is a boutique restaurant and bar with a colourful history. At some stage in its distant past it was a “house of ill repute” and was known as the “house of ladies”. It was deemed to have sufficient character, history and architectural merit that it was physically moved from its original location to make way for the tower block behind it.

Well it makes sense to me, anyway. My choices were further limited by the fact that my car was in being serviced (again). I took the bus to Wellington, and walked the streets looking for opportunities.

Retail

One of several retail precincts in Upper Willis Street. I have fond memories of the Japanese restaurant in there.

In upper Willis Street, there are some interesting precincts with quirky shops and ethnic restaurants.

Reflections

The Front of the Michael Fowler Centre at the bottom of Cuba Street. I like the distortions in the glass and steel reflections

I went along the Ghuznee Street and back down Cuba Street to the Michael Fowler Centre where glass and stainless steel offered some interesting patterns, and contrasts with older architecture.

Weather

Most of our weather changes seem to come from the South but this threat is in the North

At Frank Kitts Park, the clouds offered a visible warning of what was on the way.

Rain

It seems that this is the start of a prolonged period of rain

Back at home, after collecting my car with the problem still unresolved, I paused at the fence and snatched a shot as the rain started to fall seriously.

And it’s much wetter today.

 

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

