May 12, 2015 … between the showers

It rained quite heavily for a while.

Antrim House

Antrim House, home of Heritage New Zealand

There were gaps and in between some of them, I found my way to the city. My first shot is on Boulcott Street as it drops down from the Terrace towards Willis Street. Part way down is Antrim House. It seems a fitting place for the national headquarters of Heritage New Zealand. The slightly ugly apartment block behind it is on the Terrace.

Memorial

The Australian ANZAC Memorial at Pukeahu Park. This is a reciprocal gift for a New Zealand Memorial in Canberra

From there I went up to Pukeahu Park in front of the War Memorial Carillon and the former Dominion Museum.  It is an open space over the new Arras Tunnel that carries Buckle Street under the park. A prominent feature at the back of the park is the fifteen red sandstone columns that constitute the Australian Memorial to the ANZACs. The red sandstone is intended to represent the red heart of Australia, though there was a bit of faux outrage when it was revealed that the stone was actually sourced from India. Embedded in the columns are some grey panels representing New Zealand.

Panels

Among the columns, there are the grey New Zealand panels

Regardless of the origin of the stone, the intended symbolism is carried out nicely and it is a worthy memorial.

More rain expected tomorrow, much more.

 

 

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to May 12, 2015 … between the showers

  1. John Titchener says:

    Re Antrim House. Now, isn’t that a case where a little judicious Photoshopping would have been excusable?!

    • I seriously thought about it, and even tried it to see what it looked like. Despite my oft-championed support for digital manipulation, there are certain kinds of image where the adding or removal of significant elements would feel like dishonesty to me.

Leave a Reply

