May 11, 2015 … the sun before the rain

Rain is hammering on my window.

Wind farm

Over the ridge from Karori to the wind farm on the hill

The forecast for the week ahead is for more of the same. Strong winds, heavy rain. I wonder what Winter will be like. Happily, yesterday was much nicer. There was a stiff Northerly, but bright sunshine makes up for many other shortcomings. In the morning, Mary had persuaded me into a longish walk, so by the time I came to photography, the sun was low in the sky. I went into the city and out through Karori over the hill into the Ohariu Valley. The turbines of the West Wind generation area were spinning briskly on the skyline.

Makara

Makara sunset

Makara is always an interesting place to visit, situated as it is at the mouth of the stream in a narrow valley arriving at a small North-facing bay on the West Coast.  Glittering waves were tumbling directly onto the very steep beach.

Track

Walking the coastal track

There is a walkway around the coast that passes through a narrow gap a little way off, and just as I focused on the gap, two people appeared in it. A very positive photo-bombing.

Shags

Shags in silhouette

As I usually do, I chose to return via the Takarau Gorge and Johnsonville. I love the stream that twists its way through the gorge, but it requires a lot of walking to get to the best spots since there are very few safe places to park a car. I think I missed the best light and the valley was now essentially in shadow. However a group of shags were nicely silhouetted in a pine tree.

Last light

Last warm light

Nearer to Johnsonville, there is a nice view of the hills at the back of Khandallah and though I usually hate power wires in a landscape, the high voltage DC lines from the Cook Strait Cable to the rectification system at Haywards Hill seem symbolic of the valley.

Out into the rain now.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in adversity, Birds, Landscapes, Makara, Sunset, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to May 11, 2015 … the sun before the rain

  1. atwistedpair says:

    Noice! An interesting group of images.

  2. Adam Rosner says:

    I like the coastal track shot a lot – and I’m not normally a fan of super-telephoto shots! (Having just bought a 500mm lens – go figure!)

Leave a Reply

