May 10, 2015 … at the water’s edge

Sunshine is with us, briefly.

Bouquet

Happy Mothers’ Day from a daughter to her mother

Bright sun is nice, though I could do without the bite of the wind. I began yesterday by experimenting further with Mary’s lovely Mothers’ Day flowers. They have such short lives that it seems a shame not to catch them at their best. These are in natural light on the dining table with a dark background.

ANL Echucha

ANL Echuca creeps towards the container berth.Is it really less than a month since we were in Echuca?

In the afternoon, I went to the city and walked some of the waterfront. The tugs Tapuhi and Tiaki were busy preparing to pull the container ship Jens Maersk away from the wharf for her voyage down the coast to Timaru. Meanwhile, the Australian owned Liberian flagged ANL Echuca was creeping up the harbour, ready to take the larger ships place under the container cranes. The red-painted pilot vessel Tarakena was nearby, ready to accompany the Jens Maersk out to the harbour mouth. There were few yachts on the harbour, but the one in front was managing a brisk passage to the marina.

Cafe

Soaking up the sun, ignoring the wind

Across the Star Boating lagoon, patrons at cafes and bars were making the most of the sunshine, lounging on bean bags and sipping their wine or coffee. It was a bit chilly for my preferences, but the last pretense of summer will be gone soon enough. The forecast or the week ahead is dismal.

Monastery

Monastery and hillside

In the background, the monastery and the densely populated slopes of Mt Victoria gleamed and showed why they are so often used as iconic representations of our city.

See you tomorrow.

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Architecture, flowers, Light, Maritime, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

