May 9, 2015 … clutching at straws

It was one of those days.

Cloud

Low cloud and angled rays looking up the valley to Avalon

The ones when nothing seemed to happen, and when the clock ran out on me before I had anything useful. Early morning (relatively speaking) hinted at a something in pale grey.

City

Still oppressive cloud at the end of the day. Looking to Wellington from Petone

In the late afternoon, Mary and I went to the movies, and out of desperation I took her to Petone beach afterwards to snatch a view of the city. She is remarkably tolerant of my obsession.

Bouquet

A ray of metaphorical sunshine

She saved me again by lending me the beautiful Mothers’ Day bouquet that had been delivered while we were out.

Today is the only sunny day in the forecast for the next ten so I should go now,

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, Avalon, flowers, Landscapes, Light, Lower Hutt, night, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

