May 8, 2015 … moist mist and sharp points

This has the makings of a long winter, and in theory we are still in Autumn.

Sheep

In moist conditions, farmers often bring the sheep together in densely stopped paddocks to minimise the risk of facial eczema.

Nevertheless, there is something to be seen each day, provided I manage my time somewhat better than I have recently. Mary is still working while I am very happily retired. It seems only fair that I pick up some portion of domestic duties, but as a lifelong procrastinator, this sometimes gets me into trouble. Yesterday I needed to be at home for the grandchildren to come from school. This left me with a bit of a scramble, and it was perhaps too ambitious to fit in a trip down the Wainuiomata Coast Road before I had to be back. But that’s what I did.

Violet Ace

Violet Ace makes her way to Wellington. That’s the South Island in the distance

Despite the vicious wind of the preceding days the South Coast was comparatively calm, and the only thing of immediate interest was the big vehicle carrying vessel Violet Ace passing briefly into Wellington before moving on to Lyttelton.

Catchpool Valley

Catchpool Valley

A quick side trip into the Catchpool Valley offered a view of the mist over the hills.  Despite the wind having dropped away, things were still grey and damp.

Stream

Reflections on a rock in the Catchpool stream

At the ford, I looked upstream and despite the high water level, the stream was prettily calm. I have taken this before in different circumstances.

Thistle

Prickly pest

A jab in the ankle might cause alarm in some countries but with no snakes and relatively few harmful spiders, the reaction is irritation rather than panic. It was just a thistle, but the water droplets and the spikes seemed worth a closer look.

See you tomorrow.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, Animals, Cook Strait, Maritime, Plant life, Retirement, Rimutaka Forest park, Trees, Wainuiomata, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

