May 7, 2015 … around the edges

Lingering nasty weather imposes greyness.

Yachts

Crowded mooring at Mana Marina

Unless the sea is either flat calm or spectacularly stormy, I tend to go elsewhere. Yesterday I broke that pattern by going to Mana Marina while the wind was blustery and the water was choppy. It helps to have a splash of colour on a day like this.

Bench

Empty bench

At the mouth of the inlet to Porirua Harbour, I paused for a while and watched the surf tumbling in. Any empty park bench spoke volumes about the weather. A lone sailboarder was racing up and down along the beach at Plimmerton, but at least from this side, there was no visible audience.

Shags

Little Black Shags

My homeward route took me along Grey’s Rd around the Northern edge of the Pauatahanui inlet. As I reached Motukaraka Point, a hangout” of Little Black shags was resting on the weed bed near the road. I parked and tip-toed to a place where there was a good view. They are fine looking birds and despite the plain plumage, show attractive patterns.

Kingfisher

Sacred kingfisher in the dive

Since I was this close I went to the usual spot for Kingfishers and found one on the tree. I had left the big Canon at home so used the Olympus with a 300 mm zoom. It’s not a bad performance for a small sensor and a kit lens, but I suspect that serious birding will require the use of the heavier camera.

See you tomorrow

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Birds, Geology, Lower Hutt, Maritime, Plimmerton, Waves. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to May 7, 2015 … around the edges

  1. Lovely last shot and shags. We hope for better too, today, very similar to your weather in last 2.

Leave a Reply

