May 3, 2015 … busy, busy, busy at the convention

Saturday had no holes in it.

Julieanne Kost

My Lightroom/Photoshop heroine, Julieanne Kost casts a big shadow. Her photography is inspirational and her product knowledge is amazing. Comedy on top of all that was a totally unexpected bonus.

 

The convention programme went from one good speaker or workshop to the next. There were few spaces in between. There are still those at the convention whose model of photography is similar to that of the film days. For them the photographer’s job is pretty much done once the shutter button has been pressed. Anything done on a computer after that is akin to cheating. My totally unscientific guess is that about 15% of the 300 or so present are uncomfortable with the merger of photography and computers. I, of course, utterly repudiate that attitude and rejoice in the creative options given to me by Adobe’s Lightroom and Photoshop software. There can be few people who use Adobe’s photographic products who have not encountered Julieanne Kost who rejoices in the title of “Principal Digital Imaging Evangelist” for Adobe.  Julieanne’s normal style in her many free teaching videos is serious, straight down the line. In person she was a delightful comedian who still managed to be a remarkably effective educator amidst all the comedy.  At times, it got a bit dense for me, but as she promised, it’s all accessible through the many free online videos accessible through that link above. If you are keen to improve your skills, watch the videos.

Racecourse

Large empty spaces at Greerton

 

In the tea breaks (there was nothing resembling coffee available) I sometimes found myself in the fresh air on the grandstand at the racecourse which was the venue for the convention. It’s an awful lot of space for twelve or so race meetings a year.  It still turns a buck, when I looked at some of the vehicles in the car park.

Sunset/moonrise

At the end of a long and busy day

 

At the end of the working day on Saturday it was back to the motel to change for the banquet. As on previous days there was a delightful rosy sunset after a clear day. It was hard to find a good vantage point though, so this shot is through the glass of my motel room across suburbia to the  East to catch the near full moon rising.

I left the camera behind for the banquet.

 

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Art, Camera club, Tauranga. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to May 3, 2015 … busy, busy, busy at the convention

  1. John Titchener says:

    Just as well our Prime Minister was not there, with such a tantalising pony tail in full view…

Leave a Reply

