April 30, 2015 … wet road trip

Road trip!

Kinleith

The image can’t describe the awful stench of pulp cooking at a chemical paper mill. The distinctive chemical is methyl mercaptan.

 

With my friend Paul I set out for Tauranga, site of the 63rd annual convention of the Photographic Society of New Zealand. It was wet. Mountain? What mountain? We saw no mountain. The first scenery I saw (at a time when I was not driving) was near Tokoroa when the steam and smell of paper pulp cooking told me that Kinleith, where I spent the first five years of my working life was just over that ridge.

Trucks

Hauling up the Kaimai range passing one truck at a time

 

Following the instructions of Paul’s Navman, we went through Putaruru and over the Kaimai ranges to Tauranga. I have not been in such a traffic jam for quite a while, and it’s frustrating when the really slow truck ahead of you blocks the passing lane by pulling out to pass an even slower one.

Jaguar

XF Jaguar

 

At the Tauranga Racecourse which was our convention venue, a smart-looking car caught my eye. Whatever failings it may have, the Jaguar XF has lines of exquisite elegance.

Trade

The trade stands

 

Soon the conference was in full swing with the trade stands doing a brisk trade. Without wishing to exacerbate any stories doing the rounds about senior politicians and pony tails, the lady with the blond hair in the centre foreground is the world-famous Adobe Lightroom and Photoshop expert and evangelist, Julianne Kost. Having flown directly from the USA, she looked exhausted, but soldiered on prior to some amazing presentations the next day.

That’s all for now

 

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Camera club, Tauranga, Travel, Uncategorized, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to April 30, 2015 … wet road trip

  1. That seems to be a long way around. I go through Taupo, Rotorua and then to Tauranga.

Leave a Reply

