April 27, 2015 … a splash of red in a grey day

Back to more mundane topics in some decidedly mundane grey weather.

Wai Aniwa

Wai Aniwa looking smart in red

 

In oriental bay on the Eastern side of the former Overseas Passenger Terminal, there is a small yacht basin. Perhaps I haven’t noticed her before but the yacht Wai Aniwa’s red hull caught my eye.

Naval vessels

A naval presence in Wellington

 

From a little to the West, I got a view of two naval vessels berthed on the outer side of Queen’s Wharf. They were obviously in port for the ANZAC observances. Nearest the camera is the French frigate, Vendémiaire. She has been here on many previous occasions. Ahead of her at the wharf was HMNZS Wellington, an offshore patrol vessel of the Royal New Zealand Navy. Also visible on the Southern wall of the post office headquarters building is a huge banner with a replica of an ANZAC commemorative stamp. Most people will look at that image and assume that it is a picture of the deservedly famous Australian hero, Simpson and his donkey. In fact the Moore-Jones painting reproduced is now known to be of the New Zealander, Dick Henderson who carried on Simpson’s work after he was killed. Brave men, both.

Vendémiaire

Vendémiaire

 

In Naval terms, Vendémiaire is getting old, having been launched in 1993. However, she is a clean and well-kept vessel, apparently well suited to her role as a surveillance frigate. She has teeth, with a 100mm automatic turret, two Exocet launchers and a pair of 20mm weapons. Wellington, by comparison carries one remote-controlled 25mm gun and two .50 cal machineguns plus small arms. I wonder if that’s why the poaching vessels refused to be boarded by her in the recent confrontation.

Greyness

A former workplace repainted grey against a grey sky

 

Looking the other way, I noticed the Datacom building on Jervois Quay. Way back in 1980, I worked for Philips, the Dutch multinational, and we were the first tenants of the South tower. It had splendid views from my window on the tenth (top) floor. As I said, it was a grey day.

That’s all for now.

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in adversity, Maritime, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to April 27, 2015 … a splash of red in a grey day

  1. Chris Dawe says:

    More information about Wai Aniwa winning the World One Ton Cup in 1972 is here: http://rbsailing.blogspot.co.nz/2014/12/one-ton-cup-1972.html . And pictures of her racing in March 2015 in Auckland are at http://rbsailing.blogspot.co.nz/2015/03/one-ton-revisited-2015-race-4.html .
    Must be a recent returnee to Wellington.

Leave a Reply

