April 23, 2015 … rambling before lunch

I may have mentioned before that I enjoy lunch.

Johnstone

From the waterfront, looking up Johnstone St towards Lambton Quay and the Terrace

Yesterday I was in the city for lunch with a bunch of former colleagues. It’s always a pleasure to get together and debate the direction of the world. Oddly whenever Mary asks what we talked about, I have no clue. Anyway, as usual, I arrived ahead of time so walked around the central city area looking for interesting angles and viewpoints.

Shed 5

Shed 5 (Restaurant) … lunchtime glassware as seen through the window

Beside the wharf there are some restaurants which offer the full silver service, but as I walked past the place was deserted. I took the opportunity to press my nose to the glass.

Dockside

Dockside restaurant reflected in the harbour

In the basin between the two restaurants, there were some rather nice reflections.

Textures

Textural mixture

Coming away from the Queen’s Wharf area, I paused to appreciate the amazing variety of shapes, colours and textures. The mixture of ancient and modern, permanent and temporary, sail-cloth masonry and glass is just great.

Cenotaph

The Cenotaph

We were meeting at the Thistle Inn on Mulgrave Street, so I meandered along Lambton Quay and noticed the newly renovated Cenotaph in front of Parliament. With the new national memorial at Pukeahu Park at the top end of town, I am not sure if this will be the focus of any observances at all this ANZAC day (Saturday).

I’ll stop there for the day.

 

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Reflections, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

