April 22, 2015 … red gold and green

The new camera (“Ollie”) is slowly becoming familiar.

Weir

Hutt River above the weir

That means that preferred settings come more easily to hand. I still have moments, however, where I have to stop and explore the various menu options and find how to achieve what I want. My first shot from yesterday was just behind the weir on the Hutt River at the Taita Gorge. I read a few days ago that there are two kinds of landscape image. Those that were taken using a tripod, and those that should have been. This is one of the latter.

Autumn

Red gold and green leaves

My wandering took me through Silverstream and up Blue Mountains Rd through Pinehaven. There I found a stand of deciduous trees in their full Autumn splendour. They look different in kind to the beech trees behind Arrowtown, and they are much smaller in the area covered, so I had to line up carefully to get the trees, and nothing but the trees.

Bedford

Bedford RL being swallowed by the trees

Over the hill into Whiteman’s Valley and I renewed my acquaintance with an old ex-army Bedford RL truck. I have photographed it before, but I am certain that it is slowly going back to the earth from whence it came. More and more foliage is becoming entangled in the chassis and emerging from the observer’s ring in the cab  roof. Rust is eroding the edges of the sheet metal work and the possibility of a restoration seems to recede each time I see it.

Landy

Land Rover suffering a similar fate

Quite close to the Bedford is an old Land Rover. It too is being overtaken by the surrounding weeds and shrubs, though it doesn’t look as far gone as the Bedford.

That will do for now.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Cars, Machinery, Plant life, Reflections, Rivers, Taita, Whiteman's Valley. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

