April 16, 2015 … flight home and a new friend

I was not impressed by the Met Service’s idea of a welcome home.

Melbourne

Goodbye Melbourne. At this moment, the plane had started its take-off run and I was being pushed back in my seat.

We left Melbourne a little behind schedule at 1 am. We enjoyed every moment of our stay over there except for the previously mentioned incident, and now it was time to say goodbye. We were travelling economy, so despite an empty seat beside me, sleep was elusive. We arrived in Wellington after a three-hour flight  at about 6:15 am (you are smart enough to work it out).

Petone Wharf

Welcome home weather … Petone Wharf looking mean and green

There was a light Northerly breeze and a fine day was forecast. What lies! The wind soon went round to the South, the temperature plummeted and suddenly, people were talking massive waves on the South Coast. I was cold, tired, grumpy, and when a friend suggested I go to the South Coast, since waves were my thing, I was resistant. Of course I should have gone, but I had another excuse. My new “new camera” had just arrived. You may recall that I got all excited with a mirrorless camera back in December. Sadly it proved to have persistent problems with imbedded dust in its sensor, and despite three replacements, each with the same problem, it ended up going back to the vendor for a full refund. I now have an Olympus OM-D EM-5 Mk II (Ollie, to its friends). I rejoice to say that a photograph with a  lot of clear sky now has no detectable blemishes except seagulls.  Anyway, I had to take Ollie for a test drive.

Waves

View to the city from the car park at the Western end of Petone

Did I mention the Southerly? I stayed in the car as much as possible and shot through the briefly opened window.

Terns

The Terns hunched down getting what little shelter they could from the dips in the road surface

At the Western end of Petone Beach I found a bunch of white-fronted terns shivering in the cruel buffeting wind.

Petone Beach

This is not a welcoming shore. Petone Beach in a blustery Southerly

Looking back along the beach, I decided I should go home to a warm room and spend some time reading the manual and learning how to use the camera. There is so much to learn.

Though I loved family time on the other side, I am glad to be home.

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Birds, Melbourne, Petone, Waves, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to April 16, 2015 … flight home and a new friend

  1. Glad you are back safely and keen to follow Ollie!

Leave a Reply

