April13, 2015 … wide open spaces

Being back in Melbourne helps me to think about yesterday.

tree

The classic lone tree in the empty paddock

We went Westward from Echuca, through a tiny town called Mitiamo on our way to the Terrick Terrick National Park.I know the spell checker will complain about that duplication, but that’s what it’s called. On the way, I was struck by the vastness of the horizons, the emptiness of the land, the amount of bare brown soil exposed to the elements. A recurring feature that I liked was the single lonely tree in the middle of a usually immense paddock.

Mitiamo

Wide open spaces near Mitiamo

We got to Mitiamo and went up the track into the park. I have decided that Australia, or at least Victoria does its best to baffle tourists by having the least possible signage pointing the way to anywhere, or when there absolutely has to be a sign to label it in the way that is least useful to the stranger. Despite their best efforts we found our way to Mt Terrick Terrick which is the highest point in the park and we walked up the hill to get a higher view. As you ascend, you get a better sense of the enormity, the majesty and the dryness of this landscape.

Panorama

A sixteen-shot stitched panorama from the summit of Mt Terrick Terrick … about 150 degrees of arc.

At the top, 148 metres above sea level, there is some sort of satellite dish, and a splendid 360 degree view of Northern Victoria. Of course, the distance fades into the heat haze very quickly so despite the height advantage, you don’t see far at all.

Eagle

Wedge-tailed eagle

I was lined up on a bird in he forest when we came down, and Mary called out. I reacted unkindly since she had spoiled my shot, but she was pointing upwards and I stood there like a slack-jawed yokel as the most beautiful wedge-tailed eagle circled overhead. I didn’t even have the wit to lift my camera until its second circuit by which time it had drifted to my left and I missed the clear shot of the bird as the trees obscured one wing.

Always listen to your wife!

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Birds, Echuca, Landscapes, Melbourne. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to April13, 2015 … wide open spaces

  1. John Titchener says:

    I love a sunburnt country,
    A land of sweeping plains,
    Of ragged mountain ranges,
    Of droughts and flooding rains.
    I love her far horizons,
    I love her jewel-sea,
    Her beauty and her terror –
    The wide brown land for me!

    – Dorothea Mackellar

Leave a Reply

