April 11, 2015 … in and around the Echuca area

The whole Echuca-Moama area has much to offer.

Pevensey

Flying valve gear on the PS Pevensey

Before we went back to the forest, we felt we needed to do one of  the iconic paddle steamer rides that brought the area to some degree of fame back in the 1980s with the TV series “All the Rivers Run” starring Sigrid Thornton. I love anything to do with live steam so spent a fair amount of my time on the Pevensey, watching the pistons and valve gear flying back and forth.

Swallow

Welcome Swallow in flight

The time I spent on the upper deck was pre-occupied with trying to catch the Welcome Swallows in flight. I think this is the best I have achieved of this elusive bird to date.

Barmah forest

Barmah State forest on Broken Creek

The area of yesterday’s cruise is the Barmah State Forest. The notion of a forest in Australia is quite different to what we expect in New Zealand. It is much more open and vertical. It is less dense and tangled, and much less green than ours. In thee case of the Barmah forest, it is also much flatter. Both have their dangers, though few of ours have venom or teeth.  Both are extremely beautiful, each in their own way.

Pelicans

Pelicans perched

After a drive past an old stock mustering yard, we paused at the Barmah Lake camping ground and were delighted to find a parking lot for used pelicans. Or perhaps it was the assembly line for new ones. Either way, I was happy to see them.

Tired, must sleep.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Birds, Echuca, Forest, Landscapes, Machinery, Maritime. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

