April 7, 2015 … parked on the husband bench

Most large shopping centres have a row of seats where husbands can be parked while wives shop.

Atrium

One of the main atriums at Chadstone

Yesterday, out of curiosity rather than a need to shop, Catherine took Mary and I to Chadstone, a major regional shopping centre in Malvern East, a suburb in the South East of the city. Truth to tell it was the still painful ankle that confined me to the husband park, rather than wifely instruction.  Chadstone claims to be the largest shopping centre in the Southern hemisphere. I am always skeptical of Southern Hemisphere claims as they rarely examine claims from the great cities of Latin America. Nevertheless, with 510 stores it is a big place and with the ladies somewhere in the distance I made a slow journey through some of the closer parts of the mall.

Ground floor

In the same atrium as before … the place I took the first photo is the second bridge back.

There is a certain sameness to malls everywhere, but I tried to capture the essence of this one.

Palm

Palm tree doing well

There are a lot of palm trees, some of which are a healthier colour than others.

Apple

The temple of Apple. Every station and every device was pored over and there were people waiting their turn for each

I had a look in the only camera shop in the mall, and found no compelling bargains. I went next to the temple of Apple where the uniformed acolytes were waiting to pounce on anyone who came near the entrance. I had a look at large monitors but again, found no compelling bargain.

Food court

Food court at Chadstone

Looking down into the food court, it looked to be several classes up from most mall food courts. There was no sense of greasy fries and litter. It looked almost civilised.

Then it was back home to rest the leg.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, Architecture, Family, Melbourne. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to April 7, 2015 … parked on the husband bench

  1. George Berger says:

    T
    ” . . . the temple of Apple . . . ” Love it, and aptly put.
    gberger@his.com(from a long-time Mac user)

Leave a Reply

