April 6, 2015 … not quite the holiday we planned

To begin with, I expected to have the full use of both legs.

Bikes

Bicycle fence around a restaurant

Since my crash in pursuit of a tram the other day, I would estimate that my left leg has less than 20% of its normal load-bearing capacity, and even when I am not attempting to stand or walk, it is reminding me it is there. Yesterday afternoon the family went to the big outlet centre near South Wharf on the banks of the Yarra. The intention was that I would hobble no more than a few metres while the others looked for bargains inside the thronged shops. It was, of course, Easter Sunday. The weather was grey and cool, so the outlet centre was packed. I wandered slowly, very slowly, along the restaurants on the water’s edge. I rather liked the brightly coloured bicycles used as a demarcation fence for one of the restaurants, though I noted that the pedals had all removed as a deterrent to theft.

Polly Woodside

Polly Woodside in her dock. Sadly she was not open on Easter Sunday, despite website advice to the contrary.

Around the corner of the main restaurant block, the Polly Woodside sits in the splendour of a special dock. Polly Woodside is a three-masted barque built in Ireland in 1885. She sailed the world as a trader under various names until her working life came to an end in 1922. She is now handsomely restored and part of the wonderful riverside precinct in Melbourne.

Bridge

seafarers’ Bridge … so named as a recognition of the Mission to Seamen that used to stand nearby.

There are many bridges across the Yarra, including some quirky footbridges. This, still limping heavily, I made my way to the middle of this one.

Yarra

Tourism on the Yarra with at least a visual nod to the canals of Amsterdam

As I looked to the East, one of several tourist vessels that ply their trade on the Yarra cam towards us. I am sure that even if they were not built in the Netherlands, they are modelled on the canal boats of Amsterdam.

I hope this foot improves soon.

 

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, Architecture, Maritime, Melbourne. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to April 6, 2015 … not quite the holiday we planned

  1. nzphotog says:

    I have a spare set of crutches if you need them 🙂 I enjoyed this set of images as I have walked through those places myself and taken photos, it is interesting to see a different view of them.

  2. John Titchener says:

    Ah, the mighty Yarra. Too thick to drink; too thin to plough. And still the only river in the world that flows upside down – i.e. with the mud on top, and the water underneath.

Leave a Reply

