April 5, 2015 … one legged wandering

Most of yesterday was spent immobilised.

Spirit

Spirit of Tasmania II

When I crashed the previous day, I was unaware of the ankle injury. I suppose the ankle twist was the first cause of everything that followed, but either way, it made its presence felt yesterday. My daughter took pity on me towards the end of the day and left me at the beach in Port Melbourne while she went to the gym. The Spirit of Tasmania II was in port, preparing for the evening sailing across the Bass Strait. On the beach, some hardy souls were swimming despite the very chilly bite of the wind.

Wedding 1

One of two wedding parties using the pier as a backdrop for their photos

Eventually I needed to move so I hobbled Eastward towards the next little pier. One wedding photography session was in progress at what was obviously a favoured site, and another party was waiting impatiently for their turn on the pier.

Pier

Anglers on the pier at Port Melbourne

During the changeover between parties, I made my way carefully down the pier to see if there was a shot to be had.  Lots of fishermen, but nothing photographically exciting. Catherine caught up with me there, having seen me wandering away from my allotted parking lot from the window of the gym.

Wedding 2

Wedding party 2, parked their dressed up cars so as to monopolise the street

We had a coffee across the road and watched as the second wedding party finished with the pier and proceeded to block a side road to use as a set for their wedding album.

Factory

The people who used to work here could not afford to live in an area as expensive as this

As we progressed slowly back to the car, I snatched a shot of one of the apartment complexes. Many of  the expensive apartments in the Port Melbourne area are converted from old warehouses and factories.

Not a great day, photographically, but better than I hoped in the circumstances.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, Family, Maritime, Melbourne. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

