April 4, 2015 … tram, base, apex, rice, harm

Today Mary and I have been married for 45 years, so I begin by paying tribute to my long-suffering and amazingly tolerant, ever supportive wife.

Pier

A forest of piles at Princes Pier, Melbourne

Yesterday began well. Mary and our elder daughter Catherine were going for a walk, so with cameras in hand, I tagged along until we reached the old Princes Pier in Port Melbourne. This used to be the focal point of Melbourne’s seaborne trade in the early part of last century. It was a marvel of its time, 550 metres long with eight rail tracks running along its length. After it ceased to be used in 1969, the timbers deteriorated and vandalism hastened the decay. The pier was closed to the public in 1990 and a series of arson caused some rethinking. The first 196 metres of the pier have been restored with a new concrete deck. The deck of the remainder has been removed leaving only a forest of piles as a remnant of a significant element of the city’s history.

Piles

I loved the texture of the piles which have stood in Port Philip Bay for over a century.

I spent quite a while, seeing what I could make of this strange sight, getting as many different angles as possible.

Bank

Closed for business on Good Friday

In the afternoon, I was turned loose again, so I took a tram to the city. Since it was Good Friday, most of the city’s businesses were closed, and I found it interesting to see the solid ornamental doors and gateways on the historic buildings in the financial district.

Tram

No matter how much he pulls back on the stick it will never leave the ground, but it’s an impressive console

Next I took a tram ride on the basis of going to where the next tram took me. which was East Brunswick. It tuned out to be one of the newest class of tram and I was impressed that the driver’s had more glass in his cockpit than a 787 driver.  I went out and back, and then the tragedy happened.

I had to switch trams and saw the one I wanted approaching on Collins street. With my camera around my neck, I made a run for it. You can see where this is going, can’t you? Collins Street footpath is well up to third world standards and my ankle went over, I made an elegant swan dive into the gutter, went “base over apex” and landed on the camera (again). It survived, albeit with a few new scars. I was less fortunate, though I was grateful for the five or six people who came racing in concerned to pick up the silly old codger who had done a face plant in the road. A few grazes, but apparently intact I actually got on the tram, shaken and stirred. It was not till I got home that it emerged I seem to have sprained my ankle. Rest, Ice, Elevation and Compression (RICE) and avoid Heat, Alcohol, Running and Massage (HARM).

That will slow things down for a few days.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Adventure, adversity, Family, Landscapes, Melbourne. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to April 4, 2015 … tram, base, apex, rice, harm

  1. nzvideos says:

    Well at least you did “an elegant swan dive”. When I do such, it is anything but elegant. At least you now have an excuse for not doing house chores for awhile. I look forward to the house photos for the next couple of days. Please take care and enjoy your R & R.

  2. nzphotog says:

    Sorry to hear this news, I guess we will see photos of the swelling going down for your photo of the day… for the next few days? Rest well and heal fast!

  3. Oh dear! I think your cameras each need one of those medical bracelets. But glad it and you are ok even if somewhat sprained.

Leave a Reply

