April 3, 2015 … in the big brown land

Yesterday was a little disjointed.

Southern Cross

It’s not a thing of beauty, but Southern Cross Station is at least interesting. The Sinusoidal roof line requires some complex supports.

 

Daughter and son-in-law were at work, and for one reason or another, we didn’t leave the house early enough to do anything significant. I suggested a train trip to some place neither of us had seen before, to look around, have lunch and to come home. So we went to the V-Line’s terminus at Southern Cross Station. Southern cross is one of those buildings that proves that just because you can doesn’t mean you should. It has a quirky roof line but is in my opinion, not a pleasant place to be.

Train trip

Dry, brown, empty on the train heading to the North East of Melbourne

 

Soon, however, we were in a designated “quiet car” in one of V-Line’s “VLocity” diesel railcar sets, speeding across a parched and mostly flat landscape. The windows were not strictly clean, but I have done the best I could to clarify the images.

Cars

Rural car collection

 

Some of the small towns and settlements through which we passed had real character. There seems little interest in such a vast and largely empty landscape to be concerned with beautifying the neighbourhood, so we saw a number of clusters of discarded vehicles. These trains travel at up to 160 km/h so I hope you’ll forgive a little motion blur, in addition to the dirty windows.

Empty

Much of the landscape gave the impression that nobody came there.

 

We got to the rural town of Seymour about an hour and a half after leaving Southern Cross. We looked around, and intending no offence to the good people of that town, found  nothing of interest within walking distance of the train. We ate a pleasant lunch at a bakery cafe, and got the next train back to Melbourne. The landscape was still dry, but interesting as we completed our excursion.

See you tomorrow.

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Architecture, Family, Melbourne, Railway. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to April 3, 2015 … in the big brown land

  1. John Titchener says:

    There I was, wondering what a “rain trip” was, through land which looks as though it hasn’t seen much rain in the last few years. Then the penny dropped! Brian was travelling by Train! Doh!

Leave a Reply

