April 2, 2015 … a stranger in a strange land

Well, here we are in Melbourne.

Melbourne

Somewhere out there in the haze is a city of four and a half million people

The flight across was fine though the view of the city as we got close was not encouraging. Where was the expected sunshine? Never mind, it was a great joy to be met by our elder daughter’s smiling face and that is sunshine enough for anyone.

Eureka

The view from a park in Port Melbourne looking towards the city. The Eureka Tower is on the right and one of the new buildings immediately to the left.

Later in the afternoon, I was turned loose with a tram ticket and a camera so I went from Port Melbourne to the banks of the Yarra. Every time I turn my back on this city, a few more stunning high-rise buildings pop up. Several have been built in Southbank, near the Eureka Tower since I was last here.

Southbank

Relaxed lifestyle on Southbank

I walked along the riverbank and enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and the pleasant views through the trees.

New buildings

Another new building since I was last here. Eureka Tower in the background.

Every few minutes I found new views of thee various buildings and could not but be impressed.

Flinders St

Flinders Street Station is a constant in a changing landscape

Some views remain more or less constant, and the area near Flinders St Station is unlikely to change unless they knock something down to make way for something new.

That’s all for now.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Architecture. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

