March 31, 2015 … problems with sunlight and darkness

Peter Pan lost his shadow.

Web

Above and below the canopy

I seem to have lost my birding mojo (whatever that is). It won’t stop me trying, of course, but when I went to Zealandia yesterday, I struggled to take good shots in the very dark shadow of the bush canopy. I ended up with vast amounts of digital noise and a great deal of frustration. I got a shot that I liked that illustrates the contrast between the bright sun overhead and the intense shade under the trees.

blackbird

Female blackbird

Even in quite wide avenue, the edges were dark, so I was quite pleased to catch this female blackbird (the females are brown) but even in this relatively open space, I had to push the settings to get the required detail.

green

Just another duck sailing by

Apart from that, none of the images I made of stitchbird, bellbird and robin were useable. Sadly I didn’t discover this until I got home. Clearly some re-learning is required. I had more luck in the open air, and enjoyed the contrast of the duck’s dark plumage against the lurid green of the water in the lower dam.

Shags

A very young chick squalling for food

At the edge of that dam is a tree much favoured by the local population of pied shags, and I was delighted to meet a very young chick in a nest just a few metres from the stairway.

Tomorrow, a shuttle will take us to the airport at 03:50 … things may get delayed.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in adversity, Birds, Wellington, Zealandia. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to March 31, 2015 … problems with sunlight and darkness

  1. nzvideos says:

    The Female “Blackbird” shot looks quite acceptable to me, given the lighting conditions. I assume you had to use a tele or long zoom, which means that you could not use as wide an aperture as you would have preferred to decrease grain. Of course you could have set up with a wide aperture standard lens and use a radio remote trigger from a distance, waiting all day for a bird to land on the branch … I would have been very pleased with such a shot.

Leave a Reply

