March 30, 2015 … wobbling heights

Seeking high places often gives some nice results.

Hutt Valley

The Hutt Valley as seen from home. Any movement blur in this seven image panoramic stitch will be the result of my knees knocking. You can see the scaffolding on the right.

Yesterday I gritted my teeth, and climbed up the scaffolding that currently surrounds our house as it is repainted. Like most scaffolding, this is a system that all locks together and at least in theory, nothing can go wrong. Of course, nothing did go wrong but given my oft-asserted fear of heights I was pleased to get up there, grab the shots I wanted and then hasten back to the blessed relief of being at ground level. The result is a panorama of the Hutt Valley on a moist morning. I am not sure it was worth the agony, but having endured the agony, I am not going to let it go to waste.

Miramar

Miramar and Seatoun

I went up the road leading to Mt Crawford on the Miramar Peninsula. A little short of the old prison, there is a knoll on which there are two water reservoirs, and a mountain biking park. There are views in all directions. My first shot from here is down into the heart of Miramar which is nestled between two ridges and further South to the heights of Seatoun.

Airport

Across Miramar to the Airport and beyond

On the Western side of the Peninsula, on the isthmus, is Wellington Airport, the suburb of Kilbirnie and beyond that Lyall Bay and then the Cook Strait and the Pacific Ocean all the way to Antarctica. I liked the cloudscape.

Biker

I go quite a long way to avoid bumps in the road. These people seek them out.

As I turned to walk back to the road I had to dodge as I was perilously close to the designated mountain bike track.

Into Harbour

FPMC 20 and Kaitaki entering Wellington Harbour. In the background is Pencarrow Head and the two abandoned lighthouses

Having survived the near miss with the bike, I got back in the car and drove along the ridge towards Seatoun. As I did so, a tanker arrived from China carrying who knows what. It had the weirdly prosaic name “FPMC 20“. As I was lining up for the shot, the interisland ferry Kaitaki burst into view and proceeded to overtake the tanker. With the foreshortening effect of the long lens, it probably looks more dramatic than it really was.

See you tomorrow.

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Adventure, adversity, Landscapes, Lyall Bay, Maritime, Miramar, Seatoun, South Coast, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to March 30, 2015 … wobbling heights

  1. DennisW says:

    I’ve had a couple of two story houses painted. The painters used ladders. Is scaffolding required in NZ or just your contractor’s preference?

  2. Dennis, where there is the risk of a fall from one level to another, scaffolding erected by properly trained and certified scafolders is mandatory, no matter how brief the exposure. As far as I now, this applies wherever there is an employment relationship. A person painting their own house may not have to comply.

Leave a Reply

