March 29, 2015 … random grab shots

Grey sky and ruffled water are not my preferred setting.

J.Vee

The fishing vessel J.Vee returning home

 

Nevertheless, I began yesterday’s search at the Hutt River estuary. The only thing moving was the little fishing vessel, J.Vee. As far as I know she doesn’t leave the harbour, but her owner takes her out regularly and usually comes back with some crates of fish. I suspect Earnest Hemingway would have enjoyed meeting him.

Wreckers

A solution to the shortage of car parks perhaps.

 

From there a bit of backstreet wandering brought me to a car-wrecker’s yard that I had not previously seen. I liked the view of the stacked vehicles and took a few shots. I then found myself accosted by a worker inside who thought I needed the companies permission to take photographs. I didn’t. The law in New Zealand generally says that if I can see something from a public place I can take a photograph of it unless it involves something where privacy is reasonably expected such as through the window of a dwelling. It’s a different story if I cross the line onto private property (which I hadn’t). Nevertheless, I showed him what I had taken and explained that there was nothing contrary to the interests of his company and he wandered off, muttering.

Estuary

Stillness on the estuary

 

On Waione Street, in Petone, there is a view of the stream that leads around Gear Island into the Hikoikoi reserve. Technically, it is the Western arm of the Hutt River Estuary. Anyway, the water was sheltered from the boisterous breeze and presented some nice reflections.

Heron

Crab dinner is fine but it looks like a bad hair day

 

On the other side of Waione St, are the mud flats of the Hikoikoi reserve. A vast and seemingly inexhaustible supply of mud crabs keeps the wading birds happy and this white-faced heron was taking regular catches as I watched.

Matiu/Somes

Just a few weeks ago I was fortunate to spend a night on the island.

 

The scenic route home took me up Dowse Drive to the water tank at the top of the hill and a splendid view over Matiu/Somes out to the harbour entrance.

Something new tomorrow (I hope) .

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Birds, harbour, Hutt River, Landscapes, Petone, Rivers, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

