March 26, 2015 … around the edges

Twin cruise liners in port together is uncommon.

Twins

Identical twins, Sea Princess and Sun Princess

Yesterday the Sea Princess and the Sun Princess arrived more or less together and berthed stern-to-stern at the cruise terminal. I imagine the retailers in the city’s golden mile were delighted.

Arahura

Arahura near the end of its life

While I was in Oriental Bay, the Interisland Line’s ferry, Arahura was leaving port and I liked the contrast with the Hong Kong registered log carrier, Yangtze Classic. Arahura is at the end of her life and is due to be discontinued this year, I recall seeing her enter harbour on her delivery voyage way back in 1983, in her original green and cream colour scheme and the tugs doing the tradition water cannon welcome. Her replacement will be the Stena Alegra which was chartered last year while the Aratere was out of service. That will reduce the capacity for interisland rail traffic.

The city

Steal and glass can present a variety of textures

Also from Oriental Bay, there is a nice view of the textures of the CBD. It’s terribly unfashionable to make urban landscape images. I love rural landscapes too, but have a fascination for the shapes and colours of the city.

Newtown

Looking North from Newtown

Later in the morning, I was above Newtown in Finnimore Terrace, looking back towards the harbour. I always enjoy finding a new place from which to view our city, and am continually surprised at how different the view is when you move just a few hundred metres.

That will do for today.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Architecture, harbour, Maritime, Newtown, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

