March 22, 2015 … about as high as a buildin’ orta grow*

Why I awoke early is a mystery.

Sunrise

Sunrise and some clouds from my bedroom window

When I pulled the curtains, however, I had to grab my camera quickly. As it was, I almost missed it because in the time it took me to get downstairs and back again, the sun had popped up over the horizon. As a consequence the photo is plagued with a lot of flare. What I wanted to capture was the cloud formation. The hooked streaks reminded me of an abstract painting called Maheno by New Zealand artist, Gordon Walters.

St Peter's Church

Looking down from Kelburn to St Peter’s Church on Willis Street

Later in the day, Mary and I went to see the superb movie, “Salt of the Earth” which documents the photographic career of the amazing Sebastiao Salgado. If you have an interest in photography, photojournalism, and the great social catastrophes of the last four decades, do not miss this. It is not a cheerful movie but it ends on an optimistic note Click on the link to see the trailer. By the time the movie ended, the day was running out of light, so I went up to Kelburn and found a nice viewpoint from which to see the city from different angles.

City

Across the central city to Mt Victoria. That’s Ghuznee Street on the right

Golden light is, I suppose, a cliché but it was such a joy to be making pictures of the city in these conditions. As Salgado remarked during the movie, you can show the same scene to different photographers because they see it differently, each according to his or her own personal history. I hope you like my visions of Wellington.

North

The view North over the government precinct and the harbour to the Hutt Valley beyond. The two buildings in the centre are the highest in the city

This particular vantage point offers sweeping views of the city and the harbour, but I resisted the urge to compress it into a single panorama. Each aspect is worthy of of consideration in its own right.

And so my day ended.

*”Kansas City” from Oklahoma by Rogers and Hammerstein

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Architecture, sunrise, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

