March 21, 2015 … bush and boats

Things all happened late in the day.

Bridge

The bridge at the Cornish St entrance to Belmont Regional park is testimony to how upgraded it has become over the years

I had stayed around home most of the day as scaffolding was being erected on preparation for a repaint of our house. It has lasted ten years in a windy salt-laden environment, so I hope this job lasts as well. When I finally went wandering I went to Cornish Street and the start of the track up to the Korokoro dam. The first time I encountered this track, there were no bridges, and we had taken our shoes off and on again four times before we realised that wet feet were inevitable. My memory says the path crossed and re-crossed the stream thirty-four times. Now the path is almost a highway and you need not wet your feet even once.

Bush

Wrong lens for birds and sadly no ability to convey the delightful bird chorus, but the bush itself is a joy.

The stream runs in a steep-sided heavily bush-clad valley and there is a lot of bird life. I must go back there properly equipped for that, but yesterday I had just the short lens with me.  Never mind. I enjoyed the plentiful bird song and the beauty of the bush.

Yachts

A pair of apparently mismatched yachts cross the line at Point Howard, with Mt Kaukau in the background. I had hoped for luminous sails but was about ten minutes too late

As the evening wore on, there was a nice light on the harbour and the wind seemed to have dropped. There was a substantial fleet of yachts out near Point Howard, so I went for a closer look. I was a little too late for the best light as the fleet was in the shadow of the Western Hills by the time I got there. And that business about the wind dropping was a lie.

Yachts

A close threesome coming to the finish with Petone Beach in the background

The local yacht club seems to run handicap races in which various classes of yacht race each other and the clock. It is obviously a popular event at the end of a working week as I estimate there were over twenty vessels competing.

That’s it for the day.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Birds, Forest, Maritime, Petone, Seaview. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

