March 20, 2015 … smile and wave

The sky cleared quite a lot with some large patches of blue, though there was lingering cloud in the East

Reef

Heavy swell on Barrett Reef, with the Eastern hills in heavy shadow

Southerly winds were still pushing solid waves towards the South Coast though. From the Moa Point area, the view across the harbour entrance presented a nice moodiness, with the hills behind Pencarrow in deep shadow, contrasting with the white foam as the swells crashed on Barrett Reef.

Lyall Bay

Splash. This would not be a good place to come ashore

A little closer in at the Western end of Lyall Bay, there is a large rock that was putting on a good display as waves cascaded over it.

Kite

Kite Surfer races Eastward as the Straitsman begins its turn to the West

Around beyond Island Bay, there were a pair of kite-surfers racing up and down, and in the background was our old friend the Straitsman which obviously survived the big swells f a few days back.

Fishing boats

The fleet in shelter

Speaking of Island Bay, the fishing fleet seemed to be mostly moored sensibly in the lee of the Island. The boats were bouncing vigorously nonetheless.

Another day done.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in adversity, Cook Strait, Maritime, South Coast, Waves, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

