March 18, 2015 … and the weather it lingers on

Through the morning curtains, it was clear that the rough weather was still with us.

Drizzle

The drizzle was scooting up the valley to the left. Hutt Hospital on the left, Naenae in the background

The Eastern hills were shrouded in low cloud, and the distant view was softened by the persistent drizzle.

Straitsman

Straitsman attempts to fly. Her bulbous forefoot is right out of the water

A strong Southerly wind was still blasting in from the Harbour entrance so that seemed like a good place to go. I arrived just in time to miss the broadside view of the Straitsman making a run for the sea. Just watching her made me feel uneasy. If you click to see the larger version, there are people on the upper deck near the funnel looking over the rail.

Down

For every skyward leap, she buried her nose soon after. If you look under her stern you can see the spray where her props are thrashing on the surface

She was pitching through a total arc that I estimate to be about thirty degrees. I really hoped that those vehicles on the exposed after deck were well and truly chained down.

Waves

Green water

As the Straitsman disappeared to the West, I checked the other way and saw some heavy green water. Despite being a poor sailor, I like big seas and enjoy looking at long ocean rollers. I timed the waves and the period between each wave crest was about thirteen seconds. At the height of the storm, I read that the period was as much as twenty-five seconds. Those are seriously long and powerful waves.

Goodnight all.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Adventure, adversity, Cook Strait, Maritime, South Coast, Waves, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

